What Are Chakras and How Do They Help You?

Have you ever taken meditation or gone to a yoga class and you hear about healing and other practices? If you have, chances are that you have heard about the chakras and how the energy of your chakras flows throughout your body.

You may have heard about how important it is that you keep your chakras healthy and unblocked, but even if you heard it, you may have wondered what the chakras actually mean and how they really affect your mind, body, and soul.

What Are the Chakras?

Chakras are the energy parts of your body. In Sanskrit it means “wheel”, and this means that the energy is always spinning throughout the body. The chakras are part of your organ system and they function in a way to keep your body healthy and your mind and emotions strong.

There are seven main chakras that are found in the body and they go from the top of your head and down to your feet. There are other chakras outside of the body but most of the time when you hear about the chakra system, it is talking about the seven main ones.

Main Chakras

The chakras are your energy centers, and they are located all throughout the body.

Root Chakra

The first chakra is the Root or the Muladhara. This is found at your spine and it will be where you have life and security. This is the chakra that helps you to feel stable and strong.

Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is the sacral chakra or the Svadhisthana and is found under your navel. This is where your sexual energy comes from and where you will find your creativity.

Solar Plexus

The Solar plexus is also called the Manipura and is found in the stomach. This helps you to be confident and to have worth.

Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is the heart chakra and is found in the center of your chest. This is where you can find unconditional love and compassion for others.

Throat Chakra

This chakra is also called the Vishuddha and is found in your throat. This helps you to have open communication and to be honest.

Third Eye Chakra

This is located between the eyebrows and is called the Anja. This is where you have your psychic giftings and where you can open up your intuition.

Crown Chakra

The crown or the Sahasrara is found at the top of your head. This is where you can find your life purpose and your awakening.

Unbalanced or Blocked Chakras

When you have a chakra that is unbalanced or blocked, it means that you are not getting the energy that you need. This can cause your body to have different things happen to it and it can cause you to miss out on happiness.

A chakra that has low energy means that you will not be able to be as productive as you need to be but if it is overactive, it can cause you to have too much of that chakra and it can affect your emotions and your body.

Health and the Chakras

The chakra is located in different parts of your body and when the chakra is out of balance, it can cause that part of the body to be out of whack.

If your chakra is located close to the bones, it can cause you to have aches and to have pains. It can also cause emotional situations such as anger or hurt.

Pay attention to what you are feeling in your mind and your body and find out what you are experiencing and where the feelings are coming from.

When you have bad habits, such as eating or addiction, this can cause your chakras to be unbalanced. Having chakras that are not balanced for a long time can cause you to have sicknesses or diseases.

Unblocking Your Chakras

There are different ways that you can unblock your chakras such as:

  • Doing yoga.

Yoga has different poses for each of the chakras and can help you to unblock them and keep them strong.

  • Root chakra: Tree Pose, Mountain or Warrior.
  • Sacral chakra: Pigeon Pose, Bridge Pose.
  • Solar Plexus: Triangle or Boat
  • Heart chakra: Cow Face Pose, Wheel, or Camel Pose
  • Throat Chakra: Fish or Plow pose.
  • Third Eye Chakra: Forward fold, Eagle Pose, Folded Eagle.
  • Crown Chakra: Corpse Pose, Savasana Pose.


The chakras are part of your energy center and if you want to have a healthy mind, body, and soul, you need to make sure that your energy centers are working the way that they should work.

There are seven main chakras in your body, and they go from your spine all the way to your head and if they are blocked, you will experience physical and emotional problems.

If you want to unblock your chakras, try different yoga poses, meditating and breathing exercises. Doing these can help you to be healthy and strong.

When you don’t know where to start, talk to a psychic or a professional energy healer to help you know what you can do next.

Leave a Reply